The State of Things: Metroid

Let’s just make one thing clear, before I start playing devil’s advocate on Metroid Prime: Federation Force, I gotta say I love the Metroid series and Super Metroid is one of my favourite games of all time.  The reaction this game has got hasn’t sat right with me and stuff like this needs to stop.

What I’m gonna do is take you back, all the way to E3 2015, Nintendo’s lacklustre direct has just been on after an extraordinary Smash Bros Direct on the Sunday preceding the direct.  I don’t know what everyone was expecting, Nintendo clearly in this purgatory space between the Wii U dying a slow and painful death and them preparing for the release of the NX.  They were never going to announce anything massive and yet about half way through BOOM, a new Metroid was announced (reveal trailer above) which is a sort of spiritual successor to Metroid Prime: Hunters, for the 3DS.  The game is a 4 player co op game based in the Metroid Prime universe where players team up and take on foes.  The uproar from fans was actually quite sad, there were petitions for the game to be cancelled, an unhealthy amount of dislikes on the video on YouTube… I could go on.

NOW…

Forgive me if I’m wrong, but when Mario goes golfing, karting and playing tennis that’s fine, when Pokémon releases its Ranger series, mystery dungeon games and Snap nonensense, that’s also fine, but if Metroid decides to have a bit of a filler and releases a spin off this is somehow not allowed? Why? because it’s not the Metroid game you want? Grow up.  Believe me, I’ll put a years wage on it, there IS a Metroid game in development for the NX, you can take that to the bank.  I feel sorry for Next Level Games, I bet Metroid Prime Federation Force is not a bad game and they’re getting a load of flack for it.

Another thing that’s not widespread realised is that in order to generate a sequel or a next instalment in a series, the previous one has to at least break even but realistically make a profit.  We all love Metroid but it doesn’t sell as well as you think it does, if you combine all 11 Metroid games sales it adds up to approximately 16 million, to put this into perspective the average Mario game sells half of that on its own.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying Metroid Prime: Federation Force is going to be the best game of all time or anything but people need to give it a chance.  It’s not like Nintendo has gone all Konami on everything and has abandoned AAA games for mobile games (although like I said before, they have been making weird decisions).  People just need to chill out, if you don’t like the look of the game you don’t have to buy it.  Simple.

Fuck sake.

WheelJack xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

