E3 2016 Summary & My Game of the Show

For those with no time, the conference game ended up like this, from best to worst:

Sony>Microsoft>Bethesda>Ubisoft>EA

For those that have come for the good stuff, let’s get started.

After watching all the press conferences and listening to all the buzz that came out of the show this year, it’s time I gave my two cents. A brief recap on all the conferences.

EA

Everything about this was dull, from lecturing Britons on Madden or needlessly jumping from London to LA, Jade Raymond telling  us everything we already know on Star Wars/Mass Effect showing us developer diaries, I have nothing against developer diaries but there’s a time and a place for it and the fact that they still have nothing to show of Mass Effect Andromeda after announcing it last year makes me think this title is in trouble.  Titan fall 2 was there and is coming to PS4… Does anybody actually give a fuck?  The FIFA showing was interesting with The Journey featuring the fictional Alex Hunter, not a prayer in Hell’s chance I’m going to play it, but I can respect that.  However, give me some of that Battlefield 1 though, that game looks fucking awesome.

titanfall2.jpeg
Concept art from Titanfall 2

2/5

Ubisoft

Aisha Tyler gets a lot of stick from the lovely people from the internet but I quite like her, you can tell she plays games and is excited for what she’s talking about.  Ubisoft’s conference started off really well, with Ghost Recon: Wildlands looking a load of fun to South Park: The Fractured but Whole also looking tremendous, however as soon as they started talking about VR, that’s where the conference fell flat with developers coming out for wayyyyyyy too long and the pacing ruined.  Watchdogs 2 looks like a decent game but then again so did the first one plus For Honor looks like a bag of shit.  AND, no Beyond Good & Evil 2… One day.  So close to a decent show.

3/5

Bethesda

Let me start off by saying that anybody that questions me for being a nerd needs their head examining, I went to bed at 1am woke up at 2:45am watched the Bethesda conference went back to sleep about 4:30am and went to work at 7am. Priorities.

2999581-bethesda
Awesome promo for Bethesda’s conference

Now, the show was awesome.  The pacing was great the developers weren’t out for too long and the return of a legend. Quake.  I’m not a massive Quake fan but when that Quake: Champions game got revealed I got a bit excited, Quake is awesome and it’s exciting it’s coming back.  Dishonored 2 was next, looks fucking awesome.  After that Prey 2 was announced again with it being retitled Prey and they went on about some Elder Scrolls: Online nonsense which I don’t really care about but judging from the reaction of the crowd a lot of people play it, so good for them.  The thing Bethesda do best is they don’t tend to announce things that are too far off (I’m looking at you Cyberpunk 2077) which is good and rarely let’s the hype calm down, there was a 6 month gap from announcing Fallout 4 to the release date and it paid off.

 

Oh… Skyrim: Remastered. BOOM.

4/5

Microsoft

Microsoft brought it this year, they kicked things off with Gears of War 4, which looks incredible although I am waiting for them to fuck it up, they also announced an Elite controller for Xbox One ($200, btw).  The pacing in the show was on point again with developers being brief and trailer after trailer after trailer.  Forza Horizon 3 was announced which looks good enough, Rare’s Sea of Thieves looks like a lot of fun, although I fear this will be another Evolve if not done correctly, Evolve was a good game but DLC galore ruined it along with the inability to be able to find a team which actually played the game properly. A shame really.  The same may happen with Sea of Thieves but Rare will sort it out.  Hideki Kamiya’s Xbox One exclusive  Scalebound ran wayyyyyy better than last year when he showed it, looks good.  Recore was shown off again, doesn’t look like the game you thought it would be judging by the first trailer and they banged on about Minecraft for a bit.  Tekkie 7 was shown and Gwent from CD Projekt Red, a good show.  I think the weakest part to this conference was the live demo of Final Fantasy XV, a shower of shite.

scale-6-scalebound-on-xbox-one-has-more-dragons-hydras-than-you-can-shake-a-sword-at-jpeg-231592
Scalebound, expected to be released in 2017

At the end they revealed that Project Scorpio is indeed real and is indeed coming out Fall 2017.  It’s risky revealing a console mid-cycle but they did it in a way where I, as an XBOX ONE owner didn’t feel alienated and tossed aside for having an old model.  I’m starting to wonder if Project Scorpio is Microsoft’s waving the white flag indicating they lost this one and are starting the next console war early, but I’ll go into that more in my next post.

I really feel for Microsoft, they can’t seem to catch a break.  This was a solid show, but Sony’s was THAT much better.

4/5

Sony

Sony’s conference was head and shoulders above everyone else’s, they are at the top of their game at the minute and can seem to do no wrong.

Started strong with God of War 4 (retitled “God of War”), and pretty much kept it up throughout the whole show.  God of War looks awesome, Kratos is back and has been given a new depth to his character, he has a son and is trying to control his anger, Sony Bend’s new game was there called Days Gone which has a motor bike gang as the main characters in a zombie outbreak except the twist here is they aren’t actually dead, so they eat and sleep and all that I assume.  They showed The Last Guardian, AND GIVE IT A RELEASE DATE! (October 25th), interested too see how this game does.  Horizion Zero Dawn got another demo and I don’t know what more to say about this game, looks great.  Detroit Becomes Human then sold your boy JT on a David Cage game… For those that don’t know, I’m not a fan of his game but that looks fucking awesome.  VR was then talked about for a little bit featuring games like Batman and Star Wars and my moment of the show, the announcement of Resident Evil 7: Biohazard which looks like it’s going back to its roots and I’m excited… Fully VR compatible as well so… HYPE. Crash Bandicoot coming to Skylanders and Crash Bandicoot, Cortex Strikes Back and Warped ALL coming to PS4 Remastered, so there’s that.  People need to put their money where their mouth is on this one.  This HAS to sell in order for Activision to make a new one so people banging on about a new one better buy this (I’m sure you will ;)).  Call of Duty was there again with some PS4 exclusive perks and to its credit, it did take me like 2 minutes to realise it was CoD so it makes it the most interesting CoD in years.  PS4’s exclusive Spider-Man game is real and being developed by Insomniac Games and it looks really good although it was only a CGI video with a bit of scripted gameplay in there.  The only game developer to take the stage was the one and only, Hideo Kojima showcasing his new game Death Stranding which is starring Norman Reedus and looks as you guessed it… Extremely fucking weird.

DeathStranding_Screen_PS4_005_1465877395
A shot of Norman Reedus from the trailer for Death Stranding, Hideo Kojima’s new project

It ended weird, I personally think the long awaited NEO was supposed to go in this slot but with the leaked specs of the NEO and it being significantly less powerful than the Scorpio and Andrew House giving an interview prior to E3 saying basically “It’s real and will not be at E3”, I think this is what made Sony potentially pull the plug and go back to the drawing board.  That and I just don’t buy the theory going round that the next Red Dead game was here in its stead, Rockstar wouldn’t do that.. They’re too big, but anyway this backs up my theory, instead it was gameplay from Days Gone which looks good and caps off a great show for Sony. GG.

5/5

JT’s Personal Game of the Show

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

What can I say?  This game looks fantastic, I’ll admit when I first saw the Zelda trailer I was a bit sceptical because it doesn’t really show much, didn’t explain anything and was really a more generic Zelda trailer, people will make the argument that it’s borrowing a lot from other games like, Elder Scrolls and Far Cry but who cares?  This is the Zelda game you’ve been waiting for, it’s been called “Nintendo’s most ambitious game in years” and I really can’t wait to play it, I hope we see the NX real soon, I reckon an October “Conference” kind of thing.  I’m worried about them, I wish they’d go multi-platform.  Imagine them as an Activision.

Zelda_BreathOfWild_Pano

Honourable Mentions

Gears of War 4, God of War, Resident Evil 7, Horizon Zero Dawn, Gwent: A Witcher Card Game, South Park: The Fractured but Whole to name a few. a really good show.

Final Summation

One day I would love to go, but I imagine this was a great E3, anybody who says otherwise needs to evaluate what it is they’re after from video games, most conferences were awesome (minus EA and Ubisoft) and some of the secrets were exciting, I lost my mind at Resident Evil 7.  This is the best time to be alive if you’re a gamer and believe you me, it’s just going to get better from here on out.

4/5

WJ xoxo

Leave a Reply

