#7FaveGames

As a somewhat old school gamer, I’ve usually avoided the old “My Top # games” lists, I’ve always thought it to be lazy and uninspiring, but I’ve had a change of heart and the recent hash tag went around (#7FaveGames), I thought instead of just tweeting it I’d blog about it and go into more detail about my choices but anybody who truly knows me will not be in the least bit surprised.

Now, before I start I must stress that this list is subjective, my choices don’t make me an idiot, if you asked me to do this list the same time next year it’ll probably be different and it’s OK for you to disagree with me.  I also must stress that this is a list of personal favourites, not objective quality.

I only have two rules:

  1. I will list my 7 favourite games…. IN ORDER, I’m not making that cop out.
  2. I will only represent one game per franchise, however spin offs etc. are allowed so for example I can have Metal Gear Solid and Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance If I so wish.

Let’s do this…

7. Super Smash Bros. for Wii U

Vorschau-Super-Smash-Bros.-fuer-Wii-U-thumbnail1

Melee will always be THE Smash Bros. game but this one at the present moment in time is my favourite of the lot, some people give it the whole “Smash isn’t a proper fighting game” nonsense like that makes it any less awesome.  It’s a game you fight on. End of.

The only game where you can have Mario, Link, Sonic, Mega Man, Pacman and Ryu all on the screen at the same time and fight. What’s not to love?

Another reason I love this game so much is because I host a Smash Bros. Wii U tournament once every couple of months called ‘Let’s Get Smash’D’ which I post highlights to Youtube (Below) for every tournament ever since the fourth one.  This game has brought me closer with a group of friends which is probably another reason I love it so much, I’ve probably spent as much time editing videos as I have been playing the actual game, which is got to be heading to 250 hours at this point.

I admit the gameplay isn’t the best Smash game, that belongs to Melee, I don’t think anybody would challenge that, in Melee it ranges from competitive to casual in the blink of an eye in the menus, however, everything else, the Wii U game is superior, the character list, the music, the stages was a bit of a let down but there are enough, people were upset there wasn’t a subspace emissary (From Brawl) which didn’t really bother me as I didn’t rate it on Smash Bros. Brawl.  This plus quality DLC characters such as Ryu, Cloud (who Sony couldn’t even get for PABR) and Bayonetta and the inclusion of 8-Player Smash all make for a cracking game.

To summarise, it’s one hell of a party game, no matter how competitive you are and a MUST OWN if you are an unfortunate Wii U owner.

6. Xenoblade Chronicles

xenoblade-chronicles-04-27-16-1

Listen to me when I say Xenoblade Chronicles is a JRPG that is criminally underrated and underplayed.  Everything from the presentation (The Wii does the best she can), the characters, the world, the plot, the battle systems all point to a phenomenal JRPG.  I dunno if you’ve read me moan about the current state of JRPGs before but Xenoblade Chronicles is the exception.  One thing that’s a little off putting is the cast is mainly British and sometimes it’s like playing a modern day Shakespeare video game.

“The setting of Xenoblade Chronicles originated in a world that was nothing but endless ocean, until two great titans, the Bionis and the Mechonis, came into existence. The two titans fought a timeless battle, until with one final strike, only their corpses remained, forever locked in combat. The gods have since become the home of multiple forms of life. The Bionis houses organic lifeforms including human-like Homs, the diminutive Nopon, and a race known as the High Entia. The Mechonis is home to a hostile machine race known as the Machina.  A key weapon used by the Homs in the battle against the attacking Machina is the Monado, a mystical sword linked to the Bionis which grants visions of the future to its wielder.

The game’s main character is Shulk, a scientist who lives in the settlement of Colony 9 on Bionis. During an attack by Machina warriors, called Mechon, Shulk comes into possession of the Monado. During his journey, Shulk is joined by Reyn, Shulk’s childhood friend and headstrong member of the Defence Force; Dunban, a former wielder of the Monado and the brother of Shulk’s other childhood friend Fiora; Sharla, a medic and sniper from Colony 6; Melia Antiqua, crown princess of the High Entia and a half-blood; and Riki, a member of the Nopon who is chosen as the hero of his village. Other important characters include Dickson, Shulk’s mentor; Mumkhar, a cowardly soldier who was Dunban’s rival for wielding the Monado; Egil, leader of the Machina; and Alvis, a mysterious man who aids Shulk on his journey.”

– Plot and setting from Wikipedia. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xenoblade_Chronicles)

Basically if you like JRPGs you owe it to yourself to play Xenoblade Chronicles.  It’s that damn good.  One of the things I don’t like is the battle system can feel a bit tortuous and all over the place, but I like it.  It’s what Final Fantasy XII should of been.

 

5. Gears of War 3

gears-of-war-3-group

Now, for those that disagree with me on this being the best game in the series (Judgment was shite), I hear ya, I totally get it.  The reason I pick this one is simply put this was the best Gears game for multiplayer.  The gameplay was on point, the maps were good bring back a few classics and the characters were flamboyant and unique from each other and the DLC that rolled out for it wasn’t too bad either.  Gears of War as a whole is my favourite online multiplayer game, gnashers and chainsaws, I fucking love it. Bring on Gears 4.

Where Gears of War 3 falls short however is its single player campaign, although not bad and playing 4-player co op was pretty cool, in my eyes it was just way too safe.  For instance, in Gears 2 when you rode on a Brumak and stomped your way through what appeared to be 1,000’s of Locust, that was awesome but Gears 3 had none of that, too safe in my opinion, but thrived in multiplayer and that’s what we all play it for, right?

4. Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time

maxresdefault

Do I even need to explain this one?

I still remember the first time I played this game, walking out of Kokiri Forest onto Hyrule field, mind-blowing back in the N64 era and not only that when you go into the Temple of Time and transfer Hyrule from a vibrant colourful place into a bleak mess transporting yourself seven years into the future and playing as adult Link.  I won’t spoil it if you haven’t played it but, ya know what just play it…

3. The Witcher III: Wild Hunt

witcher3_en_wallpaper_the_witcher_3_wild_hunt_geralt_with_trophies_1920x1080_1449484678

The newest game on my list but what a game it is.  The closest thing to a Skyrim killer there is if I’m going to be honest with you.  As far as plot goes I don’t think it’s better than The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings but in every other category it’s head and shoulders above it.  The sheer openness of this game is daunting at first but when you’ve been in it for a while and are well on your way into it the game just gets better and better in my opinion, with about 200 hours of content according to developer, CD Projekt RED the average person will be playing this game for months, there’s so much to do.

You play as Geralt of Rivia, a Witcher, a sort of mercenary looking for his daughter, Ciri.  Along the journey there are side tracks to deal with like all the politics within the Northern Realms that Geralt gets dragged into and an asinine amount of side quests, like you wouldn’t believe.  The gameplay can be a bit jancky but once/if you get over that, you’re in for a real treat, the best of the trilogy by a mile and a game that helped get me through the stress of the death of my Nana, a modern day classic.

2. Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater

metal_gear_solid_3_hd_edition__unreleased__by_outer_heaven1974-d5g9gel

There are two types of people on this planet, those that think that Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater is the best Metal Gear Solid game and those that are wrong.  The emotion in this game without spoiling too much is honestly second to none, you really feel for Big Boss come the end game and it is the best ending for a video game EVER.  Although I believe games are more about the journey and not the destination, the ending is top notch nonetheless.

As somebody who’s a strong believer in the plot for MGS games to be mostly fucking nonsense and convoluting, this one has the best.  The characters again are all interesting, the gamelplay is that classic Metal Gear which you’ve come to love at this point with you having to eat wild animals and change the colour of your camo in order to fit into the surroundings better and have less chance of getting seen.  It’s such a shame that Phantom Pain lacked a story (I’ve also moaned about this before) and substance, I really liked Phantom Pain and who knows, it could of been that sitting here, but Snake Eater is far superior.

And that theme though….

The feels….

1. Final Fantasy VI

Final.Fantasy.VI_

Those who know me would of probably put there house on this being my number 1 pick and with good reason.

Final Fantasy VI is a masterpiece and the best Final Fantasy, it’s not even up for a debate in my eyes.  FF VI includes the best, characters, story, music and systems in any FF game to date.  There is a massive cast of characters consisting of 14 playable characters each feel different in their own way.

You start off playing as Terra Branford who’s partaking in an Imperial raid on Narshe in search of a frozen Esper. She’s wearing a mind control device which is destroyed by the Esper and kills her controllers, she’s unable to remember anything because of years of mind control and the story begins, you’ll meet many characters on the way who are fucking awesome like the legendary Kefka Palazzo who is not only the greatest villian in FF history but probably one of the greatest villains of all time, he’s got an iconic laugh and is influenced by The Joker from Batman, he actually gets what he wants and destroys the world as we know it and becomes a God-like ruler, most of the human population died and the rest are slowly dying through sickness.  The game is split up in two parts pre world destruction and post world destruction, you have to recruit your party again, it’s so good.  Another thing to watch out for is the iconic opera scene, at the time it was awesome and it still is now.

The battle system is what you want from an old school Final Fantasy game, with each character having a special ability and the game requires you to really think about how you tackle new enemies. A triumph if I’ve ever seen one, I won’t talk about it too much because again, I don’t want to spoil it but if you’ve never played it you’re in for a treat.

Oh… And VII is not the one that needs remaking.

Honourable Mentions

  • PokΓ©mon Gold/Silver
  • Gears of War
  • Resogun
  • Pretty much any Legend of Zelda game
  • Resident Evil 1-4, Code Veronica X
  • Castlevania: Symphony of the Night
  • Super Metroid
  • Super Mario Bros. 1, 3, Super Mario World, Super Mario 64, Super Mario Sunshine, Super Mario Galaxy 1-2 , Super Mario Maker
  • Mega Man 2
  • Donkey Kong Country 2
  • Ninja Gaiden
  • Suikoden II
  • Bayonetta
  • Final Fantasy 4, 7, 9
  • F-Zero GX
  • Mario Kart (Pretty much any)
  • Chrono Trigger
  • Bastion
  • Rocket League
  • Bioshock & Bioshock Infinite
  • Metroid Prime
  • Street Fighter II

Final Summation

The honourable mentions list could of been about 400 games long but you get the idea…

And there you have it, my #7FaveGames.  I’m still not 100% happy with this list and even I am shocked there’s no Mario game on it, that being said if you asked me to do this list next week it will probably be different.  Except number 1, of course πŸ˜‰

Anyway, peace!

WJ xoxo

Leave a Reply

