Game of the Year 2016 (Top 5)

What a year 2016 was.  With an absurd amount of celebrities taken from us, and to all those that have touched us I say simply RIP, from the bottom of my heart, we’ve lost some inspiring people this year ❤

The games released weren’t half bad though, with some top notch games released I’m here to shed light into what I think is the cream of the crop.  It’s worth noting I haven’t had that much time to play this year, some personal stuff I had to sort out got in the way of my gaming time… The cheek ehhh?

The only rule I really give myself when it comes to Game of the Year lists is that there are to be no remasters or remakes at all, so I apologise but Skyrim – Special Edition and Bioshock: The Collection are ineligible, as much as I’d like to include them.

Well, here goes nothing, my top 5 games IN ORDER of 2016:

maxresdefault

#5 – Dishonored 2

I fucking loved the first Dishonored, I know, it had it’s issues which I’m not going to talk about here, maybe in the future sometime..

Dishonored 2 is a great game in its own right, introducing a new character with new abilities which feel both old and familiar and new and fresh, I’d recommend Dishonored 2 to anybody but I’d say play the first one first.  It’s got a star studded cast as well, with Vincent D’Onofrio and Rosario Dawson among others. This is one of many titles which give Bethesda a real shot at being a top notch publisher.

final-fantasy-xv-noctis-gladio-ignis-prompto

#4 – Final Fantasy XV

I was going to review FF XV but I got hacked and I don’t want my save to get swallowed (I’ll talk about it when I get my PSN back).  The best thing about this game is that it’s basically everything I expected from Xenoblade Chronicles X, which is in no way a bad thing, I love the first Xenoblade Chronicles game, one of my fave games of all time but it’s sequel didn’t do it for me.  That’s where FF XV comes in, the only thing I don’t like about it is the over convoluted plot line which pretty much requires you to watch the anime prequel and a fucking feature length motion picture to fully understand the plot.

The battle system, arguably the most important asset to a Final Fantasy game I like way better than I thought I was going to, it’s not traditional by any stretch of the imagination but it feels good.  At first I thought it was too confusing but when you get your head around it the system can be quite satisfying.

The characters are fine, much better than XIII but nowhere near the heights of some of the best characters this franchise has to offer, something just feels off about them.

Anyway, Final Fantasy XV is a good game, but if you want a traditional Final Fantasy, I wouldn’t bother.

3138890-gears4_marcus_closeup_4k

#3 – Gears of War 4

An easy shout if you were going to predict this list for me.  I fucking love Gears of War and even though Cliff Bleszinski was not at the helm, I feel that Gears is in good hands with Rod Fergusson and The Coalition.

I reviewed this game so I won’t go on for ages but basically the new weapons feel fresh and authentic, the new online modes are cool and I believe the story (if you’re into that nonsense) I feel is going in a good direction.  I’m happy about the way the game is being treated apart from the micro-transactions getting shoved down your throat.  The reason it isn’t higher is because it feels like a half step forward and then a side step, not a big deal for me but maybe a deal breaker for others.

2849530-doom_hell.0.jpg

#2 – DOOM

Let me just make one thing clear. DOOM is fucking magnificent.  It succeeds in every goal it sets out to achieve, when it was first announced and it looked like a cross between Call of Duty and Gears of War with the emphasis on Call of Duty I rolled my eyes and thought “Hear we fucking go,” another old gem redone and rehashed for a current generation of generic grey shooters.  It appears I wasn’t the only one who thought this, as it was stripped from the face of the planet and wasn’t heard from again until E3 2014, apparently it was in “development hell.”

The resulting achievement is amazing, the atheistic of the game is spot on, it’s fast gameplay is key to what makes a DOOM game and the story is there but even the protagonist doesn’t give a fuck about it.  This game is a love letter to anybody who thinks the FPS genre can’t have a respectable single player campaign and not be multi-player focused, there is a multi-player mode in DOOM, but it’s shit.

Look, just play the game, it’s fucking awesome.

uncharted

#1 – Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End

Naughty Dog are in fine form recently, with Uncharted 3, The Last of Us and now Uncharted 4.

If you give a fuck about story in your games then in my opinion there is not better portrayal of a story (there are better stories) in the medium from the voice acting and cinematography to the set pieces including the awesome bike scene.  There are a few loop holes but all in all the story is fucking awesome and it signs of the end of the Uncharted franchise in style… Or does it? 😉

The only problem I find with Uncharted is I’d rather watch the story unfold instead of playing it because as good as the story arch in this game is, in my opinion the gameplay let’s the story down.

I only played the multi-player once or twice, it wasn’t really my thing but don’t let that stop you from playing this game, a MUST HAVE for anyone with a PS4.  Awesome.

Final Summation

There you have it, Uncharted 4 takes the cake, an amazing game if I’ve ever played one and is a game that shows just where this medium is headed and it’s very exciting.  Like I said earlier I didn’t have a lot of time this year to play a lot of games and that’s a shame because there were some good games this year, so to sign off I give you my “Honourable mentions” list and my “Didn’t get to play” list.

WheelJack xoxo

Honourable Mentions

Deus Ex: Mankind Divided, Downwell, AOT: Wings of Freedom, Azure Striker Gunvolt 2, Battlefield 1, Pokémon Sun and Moon, Pokémon GO, Street Fighter V, The Witcher III: Blood & Wine, Ratchet & Clank.

Never Got To Play But Want to….

I Am Setsuna, Inside, Watchdogs 2, Severed, Fire Emblem Fates, Virginia, Firewatch, The Last Guardian, Titanfall 2, XCOM 2, No Man’s Sky (Thank God), Overwatch, Recore, Forza Horizon 3, Civilisation VI, Shantae: Half-Genie Hero, Far Cry Primal, World of Final Fantasy, Steep, Dragon Quest Builders etc.

Leave a Reply

